Gintama Watch Order

Gintama is one of the best animes to binge watch. It is a very fun anime with lots of comedy episodes and also some very serious moments. If you are watching or you want to watch Gintama, then below is the correct order of seasons or arcs to watch this anime.

  1. Gintama (1 to 57)
  2. Gintama: The Movie (Remake of episodes 58 to 61)
  3. Gintama (62 to 201)
  4. Gintama’ (202 to 252)
  5. Gintama’: Enchōsen (253 to 265)
  6. Gintama: The Movie: The Final Chapter: Be Forever Yorozuya
  7. Gintama° (266 to 316)
  8. Gintama. (317 to 328)
  9. Gintama.: Slip Arc (329 to 341)
  10. Gintama.: Silver Soul Arc (342 to 367)
  11. Gintama: The Semi-Final (368 and 369)
  12. Gintama: The Final
Gintama - Gintoki, Kagura and Shinpachi


It is the first season of Gintama aired on TV Tokyo on April 4, 2006. It has total 201 episodes. You can skip the first two episodes because these two episodes were made for the celebration of adaptation of its manga. So, you can start directly from episode 3 from where the story begins.

The episodes from 58 to 61 are remade as a movie titled as Gintama: The Movie, known in Japan as Gintama: Shin’yaku Benizakura-hen (Gintama: A New Retelling Benizakura Arc). So, you can watch the episodes 58 to 61 or you can directly watch the movie, it’s your choice. But Gintama: The Movie has better animation.


It is the second season aired on TV Tokyo on April 4, 2011. It has 51 episodes from 202 to 252.

Gintama’: Enchousen

It is the third season premiered in TV Tokyo on October 4, 2012. It has total 13 episodes from 253 to 265. After this season, the second movie of Gintama anime series was released.

Gintama: The Movie: The Final Chapter: Be Forever Yorozuya

It is the second movie of Gintama known in Japan as Gekijōban Gintama Kanketsu-hen: Yorozuya Yo Eien Nare. This movie was released on 2013. Watch this movie after watching the previous seasons. The first movie was remade of episodes 58 to 61. So, do not be confused on that.


This series of the anime was premiered in TV Tokyo on April 8, 2015. It has 51 episodes from 266 to 316. Watch this series right after you watch the second movie of Gintama.


This series premiered in TV Tokyo on January 8, 2017. It has 12 episodes and 2 OVAs. In the whole series, it covers episodes from 317 to 328.

Gintama - Gintoki picking nose

Gintama.: Slip Arc

Previous seasons of Gintama are very intense and serious. So to lighten up the mood again, this series was released. Gintama.: Slip Arc (Gintama.: Porori-hen) has comedy episodes without any serious moments. The episodes of this series show the story that happened befor Farewell Shinsengumi Arc.

This series was premiered on October 1, 2017. It has 13 episodes from 329 to 341.

Gintama.: Silver Soul Arc

Gintama.: Silver Soul Arc (Gintama. Shirogane no Tamashii-hen) was premiered on January 7, 2018. It has 26 episodes from 342 to 367. This series is further divided into two halves: Gintama.: Silver Soul Arc (12 episodes) and Gintama.: Silver Soul Arc – Second Half War (14 episodes).

Gintama: The Semi-Final

Gintama: The Semi-Final is the story between episode 367 and the final movie. It has only two episodes (OVAs). So, make sure to watch this episodes before the final movie. However, based on the releasing time, the Semi-Final was released two weeks after the final movie. But I recommend you to watch this part first as it is the bridge between the TV anime and the movie.

Gintama: The Final

Gintama: The Final (also known as Gintama: The Very Final) is the third and the last movie of Gintama anime series. It was released on 2021. This is where the best anime Gintama’s story concludes.

Gintama - Gintoki with Dreadful Face

That’s the end of the watch order. Gintama is a very fun and exciting anime. If you are in dilemma whether to watch it or not, then I recommend you to watch it because this anime is so much fun. It has everything from comedy to some really serious moments. Do not leave this anime in mid way because the story will get so much better as it proceeds. You will love it.

One Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *